Boating Educator of the Year

Generously sponsored by, the Boating Educator of the Year Award was launched by NASBLA in 2011 to recognize those who go above to engage students and boaters, raise awareness, and make boating education initiatives relevant, thorough and exciting.

Regional boating educators selected

NASBLA and are pleased to announce the regional winners of the Boating Educator of the Year Award. This award symbolizes the highest level of achievement among boating safety educators in the U.S.

Northern Region
Sarah Genzman, Ohio
Sarah Genzman has been a State Watercraft Officer Education Specialist since 2013 and has been a commissioned officer with the Ohio Department of Natural Resources since 2005. As an education specialist she is responsible for conducting statewide boating education programs, skill development, boating constituent outreach and coordination, search and rescue as well as marine law enforcement and investigative functions.

Southern Region
Sgt. Jim Shelton, South Carolina
Sergeant Jim Shelton has been employed with the South Carolina Department of Natural Resources Law Enforcement Division for over 19 years and has worked particularly hard during the past year to meet the needs of the boating public. As a regional coordinator, Sgt. Shelton taught 12 Boater Education classes in his assigned area and gave 95 public presentations. In addition to teaching boating classes, he is an active member of the Boating Safety Action Force, a boating saturation team that travels to high-traffic waterways across South Carolina between Memorial Day Weekend and Labor Day.

Western Region
Erika Brooks, Kansas
Erika Brooks has held her position as boating education coordinator with Kansas Wildlife & Parks since 2004. She brought her knowledge, training and education within the realm of marketing to a new perspective within the department’s boating education programs, taking a dilapidated boating education program and molding it toward the newest standards of excellence.


View list of State Boating Educators of the Year.